No Missionary!? Unsub! Summer Virtual Missionary Madness!

Lily Labeaux - Trading Up from WankzVR

Viewers Want That Virtual Missionary Action! 

Review by DirtyD


3DPornReviews gold logo

Missionary is the Word in Summer 2017!

If you have been keeping up on the larger VR boards out there this year, such as oculusnsfw or the quite active WankzVR member forums, you have certainly noticed the uptick of comments over the last few months regarding missionary positions in VR porn movies.

At this time in 2016, you couldn't find nary a comment talking about close up missionary shots other than some wishful musings. Fast forward a year, and it is hard to find a thread with any level of extensive scene discussion that does not wind up with someone broaching the topic of either why it was not included like such n such studio or discussing the merits of the shot if it was incorporated.

Full on Missionary Madness

Last year, it became common to see comments like "is there kissing?" after a certain point in the Summer, where this year, it is pretty much "is there missionary?" It has gotten to be comical enough reading comments over the last month or so, that I wanted to take time today to pause and take a moment to touch on one of the biggest trends to come to adult VR since its inception: Close up missionary.

Virtual Missionary Origins

While WankzVR is going to go down in the annals of VR porn as being the studio to make it a "thing" due to their subscriber base, the first time I became aware of a studio doing missionary shots was late last summer when Czech VR began incorporating awesome moving camera simulated missionary mounts, that felt really fuckin cool at the time. That is to say, they shot the position as if you were moving in and getting on top of the girl with the ability to be mobile with their rig.

Rachel Evans Czech VR 4

Rachel Evans at Czech VR August 13, 2016

Rachel Evans

I reviewed the Rachel Evans scene from Czech VR in August of 2016 having really enjoyed the implementation, and CVR were pretty much the only guys working with that shot for the rest of last year until WankzVR started dinkin around with it.  It should also be noted the first time I saw a perfect kiss in this position was also from Czech VR who are able to hit this easier with the moving rig.

7 sweet cat virtual missionary

Sweet Cat, Hardcore, Czech VR, October 2016

Czech VR Moving Missionary

I would guess some of these were "simulated" missionary fucks, where it was likely dude below moving the actress with his hand, but it provided the rough proximity effect in the mask of sharing space with a woman at that range, and getting somewhat of the expected view you would see in real life.  And that is: a whole lot of face, and not much penetration.  Classic, all up, skin to skin missionary....that's all face and tit time and that is what this shot gives you virtually. 

adriana chechik virtual missionary wankzvr

Adriana Chechik - Zombie Slayers Origins, WankzVR, December 2016.

Zombie Slayer Origins

Zombie Slayers Origins from WanzkzVR at the very end of December 2016 marked one of the first attempts at a face focused missionary shot from Wankz featuring Adriana Chechik in a powerhouse performance.  This shot provided the close-up face effect while also yielding an up-on-arms type PoV where you could still look down a bit to see the action below and it was generally well received by viewers. 

18 naomi woods virtual missionary

Naomi Woods - Be My Valentine, WankzVR, February 2017

WankzVR Runs with the Ball in 2017

Winding up 2016 with a new shot in their bag, WankzVR went on to provide viewers with more than a few memorable virtual moments using a missionary type PoV with some amazing ladies in the first half of 2017. 

30 uma jolie missionary

Uma Jolie - Sweetest Revenge, WankzVR, February 2017

Making it a Thing

In the past 6 months, Wankz have been pushing the missionary shot, experimenting with distances and pretty much making it a thing now in VR porn, with scenes like Be My Valentine, Trading Up, First Class Treatment and Moving Day being just a few examples of WankzVR exploring the boundaries of this shot.

22 virtual missionary mia malkova

VR Missionary done wrong: Mia Malkova - PSE, Naughty America VR, June 2017

​The WankzVR Effect

WankzVR has a lot of viewers, and as a result, you now start seeing comments in other studios feedback threads such as "why don't you guys shoot missionary like WVR?" In turn, you see studios like Naughty America that had a large head start in VR porn production, placing the position into scenes haphazzardly to try to keep up with consumer demand and appear current, sometimes to comical effect, such as earlier this month in Mia Malkova's PSE at Naughty America VR.

The Spanish side of Virtual Taboo have also been experimenting with the shot to a fairly successful degree in features like Convenient Home Relations with Brianna Bounce.  I think it is pretty safe to say we will be seeing the other studios bringing it in now that the others have broken trail and viewers are starting to request its inclusion as a standard element. 

virtual taboo missionary

Brianna Bounce, Convenient Home Relations, Virtual Taboo,  March 2017

Why close up missionary is a little funny to me

The thing that is kind of funny to me about missionary, is... it is not even really about that position in many ways in my mind. It is simply a close up, present feeling shot, that provides a PoV, that your mind can half excuse as real and let you experience that feeling without fighting your sense of disbelief.

14 stella cox virtual missionary

Stella Cox, First Class Treatment, WankzVR, March 2017

Pretty much what viewers responded to from the outset

When you boil it out, it is essentially just what VR porn fans, many of them anyway, have been asking for from the very start. Going back to movies like the Dominatrix at VirtualRealPorn, the intoxicating moments in that feature had to do simply with proximity in many ways. And people immediately picked those moments out as the highlight sections of the movie.

It makes sense for some of the studios like WVR, CVR and Virtual Taboo to explore the shot as they have been pioneers in opening up new shot angles, pushing proximity, evolving things and advancing the medium, along with keying in keenly to viewer feedback.  The other studios now run the risk of appearing a bit behind the times by not shooting it, but they will have to hot drop it in at this point, rather than having organically come to that conclusion along the way themselves while producing adult VR content. 

Proximity works regardless of position

Proximity to another person, having a person break your sense of personal space,... works no matter what. Seated. Face down missionary. Leaning-back upright doggie. When we get a nice close dose of a woman's face, and all the beauty and expression that comes along with one of the most attractive spots on a female body, that shit will ring yer caveman bells!

I think the takeaway message, is the focus of that particular shot, and not necessarily the position itself. Yes, it is great to have one of the bread and butter everyday fuck positions represented in VR, and on that level missionary stands on its own, but on another level, the face only focus of the shot is something that can be readily tapped into in general.  Instead of just placing a mandatory kiss into a scene for instance.....play with the proximity and tease the kiss to where you build up anticipation.  Being that close to a beautiful woman, or man for female PoV, or whatever floats yer boat....being that close, demands a response from your brain.  It is quite simply a position we only find ourselves in when shit is gettin ready to go down and that is what signals your brain is then able to play with virtually. 

10 whitney wright virtual missionary

Whitney Wright, The VR Experience, WankzVR, June 2017

Adult VR is more than showing penetration

Studios like WankzVR and Czech VR already tap into these proximities in many ways, but other studios, that are not necessarily as progressive, are still missing out largely on this easy to reach VR fruit that continues to resonate strongly with viewers.

Adult VR, is not just about watching the dick slide into the hole. That is a part of it, but like a nice steak dinner, if you are going to sit there with a mask on for 45 minutes, it is nice to have a full course meal. Things like kissing or close up face time, are able to touch on things for dudes watching, that were previously unattainable from video stimulus, and represent an important difference between traditional porn and porn shot for first person virtual reality. The more production recognizes the difference, the better first person VR adult content we will get and the further the gap between producer and consumer will shrink on adult VR content.

Like and Follow us on Twitter @3DPornReviews!

This Website is for Adults only!

Please read the following before entering 3dPornReviews.com.

This Website contains uncensored sexually explicit material unsuitable for minors. You must be at least 18 to enter!

If you are under 18-years old and you do enter, you may be violating local, state, or federal law.

Parents, use the Parental Control Bar to control what your children see online.

You state that the following facts are accurate:

  • I am at least 18-years old.
  • I will not redistribute any material from the Website.
  • I will not allow any minors to access the Website or any material found in it.
  • Any material I download from the Website is for my own personal use and I will not show it to a minor.
  • Sexually explicit material depicting bondage, S/M, and other fetish activities is allowed by the local law governing my jurisdiction.
  • I was not contacted by the suppliers of this material and I willingly choose to download it.
  • I am entering this Website because it has adult content, and I agree that pictures depicting men or women in various sexual situations is not obscene or offensive in any way. In addition, I do not believe that this material could be considered obscene or offensive.
  • I acknowledge that my use of the Website is governed by the Website’s Terms of Use and the Website’s Privacy Policy , which I have carefully reviewed and accepted, and I agree I am legally bound by the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy .
  • I agree that by entering the Website, I am subjecting myself to the exclusive personal jurisdiction of the state of Alaska should any dispute arise at any time between the Website and myself according to the Terms of Use.
  • I agree that by entering the Website, I am subjecting myself to binding arbitration in the state of Alaska should any dispute arise at any time between the Website and myself according to the Terms of Use .
  • I agree that by entering the Website, I will have released and discharged the providers, owners, and creators of this Website from all liability that might arise.
  • I have carefully read the above and agree to all of them.

By clicking “I Agree,” you agree that all of the above are true, that you want to enter the Website, and that you agree to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy . Date: March 30, 2016

Exit